Teaching: On Troublemakers In Class

teaching is equal to learning - friend taken photography

I was quite shocked when I entered a classroom full of laughing and noisy students for the first time. My shared teacher told me to “beware of the boys”. I thought it was going to be just a regular noisy class and she was just exaggerating. But to be honest, the class was a disaster! It wasn’t just some noisy class.

Being in the class was quite irritating. But I’m a pacifist. I didn’t want to make a direct rude encounter. So I patiently taught, and noticed that among the boys, there was one kid played the role of the leader of the pack 😛

Among the commotion, I thought, what would Wahyu did if he was in the exact particular classroom facing kids like them. Wahyu is one of my best friend, an educator, a project manager for an NGO, a therapist, and a writer. By putting myself in his shoes, suddenly I knew what to do. I kept teaching, trying to get the sympathy from them, not feeling mad, ignoring tolerable bad conduct they’re doing, trying to understand that they might have done that because of exhaustion from school, praising them if they made a good work, and encouraging them to do their best. I also tried to gain support from the pack leader. By doing that, I slowly understand that teaching is not only about transferring knowledge. Often, it’s not only about knowledge, but it’s about attitude. Our attitude as a teacher. Teaching isn’t only about being the most knowledgeable in the class, but being the best facilitator to bring out the potentials in our students.

Happy teaching 🙂

One thought on “Teaching: On Troublemakers In Class

Would Love To Hear From You

